UP awards Tina Monzon-Palma with Gawad Plaridel

Image from UP College of Mass Communication Facebook page

MANILA, Philippines  –  Veteran Kapamilya news anchor Tina Monzon-Palma is this year’s Gawad Plaridel awardee! This was according to a press release on UP College of Mass Communication’s Facebook page.

Palma is being cited “for her pioneering efforts that opened doors/opportunities for women at a time when men dominated the media landscape,” the page said.

“Tina Monzon Palma has kept her professional integrity in her more than 40 years in the media. She was a news anchor during the Martial Law years, and remained steadfast in her craft,” it added.

Other U.P. Gawad Plaridel’s roster of honorees for 2017 include: Ms. Eugenia Duran-Apostol (2004, print), Ms. Vilma Santos (2005, film), Ms. Fidela “Tiya Dely” Magpayo (2006, radio), Ms. Cecilia “Cheche” L. Lazaro (2007, television), Mr. Pachico A. Seares (2008, community print), Mr. Kidlat Tahimik (2009, independent film), Ms. Eloisa “Lola Sela” Canlas (2011, radio), Ms. Florence “Rosa Rosal” Danon-Gayda (2012, television), Mr. Jose “Pete” Lacaba (2013, print), Ms. Nora “Nora Aunor” Villamayor (2014, transmedia), Mr. Ricardo “Ricky” Lee (2015, film) and Ms. Francisca “Babes” Custodio (2016, radio).

Palma will receive a trophy designed by National Artist Napoleon Abueva and to be presented by U.P. President Danilo Concepcion and U.P. Diliman Chancellor Michael Tan. Ceremonies will be held on August 23 at the U.P. Film Center.

Monzon herself will deliver a lecture during the ceremonies.

The Gawad Plaridel is named after famed Filipino propagandist Marcelo H. Del Pilar whose nom de plume was ‘Plaridel’.

The award “recognizes Filipino media practitioners who have excelled in any of the media (print, radio, film, and television) and who have performed with the highest level of professional integrity in the interest of public service.”

Source :