8 Abu Sayyaf members from Sulu surrender, give up high-powered arms

Image by Google Maps

The Armed Forces of the Philippines confirmed that 8 Abu Sayyaf members have surrendered in Sulu.

Brigadier General Cirilito Sobejana, commander of Joint Task Force Sulu, identified the eight rebels as Rakib Usman Mujakkil, 35; Sadhikal Sabi Asnon, 38; Jarrain Elil, 52; Wahab Buklaw, 47; Anggan Ali Sahaw, 43; Bandi Ahadjula, 56; Adih Manis Juhaini, 25; and Alden Banon, 30. They were part of the group of Abu Sayyaf sub-leader Alhabsy Misaya.

Sobejana informed GMA that the rebels surrendered themselves at 2nd Special Forces Battalion at its headquarters in Sitio Bayug, Barangay Samak in Talipao town at around 7:35 a.m. on Saturday.

Along with their surrender, the rebels also gave up their high-powered arms including two M16 rifles, one M14 rifle, and five M1 Garand rifles.

Early last October, three Abu Sayyaf members also surrendered to the same Task Force in Sulu. The former rebels underwent custodial debriefing at Camp Kuta, Heneral Teodolfo Bautista Busbus in Jolo.

Source :

Manila Times, GMA