Police designate firecracker zones in Metro Manila for New Year’s Eve

Image via Pixabay

In preparation for the New Year celebration, the Philippine National Police (PNP) has designated some areas in Metro Manila where residents may enjoy watching fireworks displays or light their own firecrackers.

The National Capital Region Police Office is working with local government units and other government agencies to secure areas for community fireworks displays.

In Quezon City, there were at least 139 areas designated as firecracker zones. The ‘firecracker zones’ are in compliance with President Duterte’s Executive Order No. 28, which regulates the use of firecrackers and pyrotechnic devices.

Inquirer disclosed that most designated areas are public places including parks, and basketball courts such as Adelfa, Casanova Drive and Palayan courts in Barangay Culiat.

Moreover, an executive order regulating sale of firecrackers was also recently signed by the City Mayor, Herbert Bautista.

There are also 36 firecracker zones in Manila that police stations under Manila Police District (MPD) have designated.

Fine of not less than P20,000 nor more than P30,000 or not less than 6 months imprisonment nor more than 1 year would be imposed to people who are caught violating the law that regulates the manufacture, sale, distribution and use of firecrackers under Republic Act 7183.

Meanwhile, in northern Manila, the Northern Police District has identified 95 firecracker zones across Camanava (Caloocan, Malabon, Navotas and Valenzuela); 64 firecracker zones in Caloocan City; 9 zones – one for each barangay in Malabon City; also 9 designated areas in Valenzuela City; and a lone zone in Navotas City at Centennial Park along C3 Road, Barangay Bagumbayan North. However, there were no reported firecracker zones in Baseco, Intramuros and Lawton.


Source :

Inquirer, Rappler