Abad Names Senators Who Received P50M Incentives

In light of Sen. Jinggoy Estrada’s revelation in his privilege speech last Wednesday  Sept. 25, Department Of Budget and Management (DBM) Sec. Florencio ‘Butch’ Abad confirms and releases the names of senators who received additional funds after former Chief Justice was impeached by the Senate Impeachment Court last May 2012.

This came days after Sen. Lacson also confirmed the distribution of P50 Million pesos to lawmakers who voted in favor of booting out Corona and at the same time that Senate President Franklin Drilon denied it. Also, almost immediately, Drilon retracted his previous statement and finally confirmed that he indeed received P50 M. However, the list released by Abad showed that he got more than that.

Among the 20 senators who voted, only Sen. Lacson did not receive the ‘incentives’.The list according to Sec. Abad, includes the following:

 Antonio Trillanes (October 2012–P50 million),

 Manuel Villar (October 2012–P50 million),

Ramon Revilla (October 2012–P50 million),

Francis Pangilinan (October 2012–P30 million),

Loren Legarda (October 2012–P50 million),

Lito Lapid (October 2012–P50 million),

Jinggoy Estrada (October 2012–P50 million),

Alan Cayetano (October 2012–P50 million),

Edgardo Angara (October 2012–P50 million),

Ralph Recto (October 2012–P23 million; December 2012–P27million),

Koko Pimentel (October 2012–P25.5 million; Nov. 2012–P5 million; Dec.2012–P15 million),

Vicente Sotto III (October 2012–P11 million;November 2012–P39 million),

Teofisto Guingona (October 2012–P35 million; December 2012–P9 million),

Serge Osmeña (December 2012–P50 million),

Juan Ponce-Enrile (December 2012–P92 million) and

 Drilon (December 2012–P100 million).

Abad also disclosed that 2 senators got their shares ahead of the others:

Honasan (August 2012 – P50 million)

Escudero (August 2012 – 99 million)

However no releases were made in 2012 for Sen. Miriam Defensor-Santiago, Sen. Panfilo Lacson, Sen. Joker Arroyo, Sen. Bongbong Marcos and Sen. Pia Cayetano. But he added that in this year, Arroyo and Pia Cayetano got some, too.

Joker Arroyo ( February 2013 – 47 million)

Pia Cayetano ( January 2013 – 50 million)

Santiago, Marcos and Arroyo were the only three senators then who voted against the Corona impeachment. Joker Arroyo who left office June 2013, like Lacson, did not use his PDAF allocations for most of his term.

Asked why Sen. Francis ‘Chiz’ Escudero got a bigger chunk compared to others, Abad said that Escudero ‘made a special appeal’ to the President since he allegedly received almost nothing from previous administration of Gloria Arroyo.

Abad was also quick to clarify that the said additional pork were not intended for ‘bribes’ or ‘incentives’ to influence lawmakers’ decision in key legislations, contrary to public speculations. According to his statements;

“In the interest of transparency, we want to set the record straight on releases made to support projects that were proposed by senators on top of their regular PDAF allocation toward the end of 2012. These fund releases have recently been touted as ‘bribes,’ ‘rewards,’ or ‘incentives.’ They were not. The releases, which were mostly for infrastructure projects, were part of what is called the Disbursement Acceleration Program (DAP) designed by the Department of Budget and Management to ramp up spending and help accelerate economic expansion.’

The P50 Million ‘incentives’ was one of the highlights of Sen. Jinggoy Estrada’s privilege speech Wednesday. In the interpellation by Sen. Enrile and Sen. Drilon that followed however, he denied it was anything.

‘That was not a bribe. It was never a bribe’


Related Article : Lacson Confirms P50 M Dole Out; Drilon Denies It

Source 1: 

Source 2