Video: American Astronauts make good on World Cup bet by getting their heads shaved in space


The World Cup fever can be felt not only around the world, but in outer space as well.

Two American astronauts were forced to shave their heads  after they lost their World Cup bet against a German astronaut. According to reports, Reid Wiseman and Steve Swanson made a bet with Alexander Gerst that whoever will lose in the game between the United States and Germany in the World Cup in Brazil will have to shave their heads.

In the game between the US and Germany, the Americans end up as the loser; 0-1 to Germany which is why the two astronauts decided to shave their heads in space. Although they ended up shaving their heads in their bet, Wiseman and Swanson are still happy sporting a new hairstyle while in space.

The 2014 World Cup is still ongoing in Brazil. The FIFA World Cup, often simply called the World Cup, is an international association football competition contested by the senior men’s national teams of the members of Fédération Internationale de Football Association (FIFA), the sport’s global governing body.

The championship has been awarded every four years since the inaugural tournament in 1930, except in 1942 and 1946 when it was not held because of the Second World War. The current champion is Spain, who won the 2010 tournament in South Africa.

The current format of the competition involves a qualification phase, which currently takes place over the preceding three years, to determine which teams qualify for the tournament phase, which is often called the World Cup Finals.

Thirty two teams, including the automatically qualifying host nation(s), compete in the tournament phase for the title at venues within the host nation(s) over a period of about a month. The 19 World Cup tournaments have been won by eight different national teams.

Brazil have won five times, and they are the only team to have played in every tournament (Brazil automatically qualified for the 2014 tournament, as the host nation).

The other World Cup winners are Italy, with four titles; West Germany, with three titles; Argentina and inaugural winners Uruguay, with two titles each; and England, France, and Spain, with one title each.

Watch their video:

Source :

Bleacher Report , ABC News