Girl from Dumaguete leaves judges in awe in Voice Kids PH

Photo Credit:

A young, timid girl from Dumaguete City made all three coaches of “The Voice Kids” turn their chairs and left them in awe of her talent.

Ashley Simone Teves sang Sam Smith’s famous “Stay With Me” for her blind auditions. Her voice earned the most coveted three-chair turn. Rocker Bamboo Mañalac turned immediately after Teves sang the first few notes.

Pop star, Sarah Geronimo, turned just as Teves was about to end her performance.

“The only word na maiisip ko, it’s an English word, ethereal, na parang, ‘yung kanyang quality, ‘yung lumulutang lang sa hangin na parang fairies in a forest or fireflies. The interpretation was very sincere,” Lea Salonga told Teves after her performance.

(The only word that I can think of was ethereal. The quality of your voice makes me feel like I am floating on air and I see fairies in a forest or fireflies. The interpretation was very sincere.)

“Ako, yes I’m speechless kasi you are just so unique. At ‘yan ang mga gusto ko sa team ko. These kids are artists who are just out of the box. When I see something special that I believe in, I’ll do what I can. I’ll do what I can for you,” Mañalac said.

(Yes, I am speechless because you are just so unique. That’s what I want for my team.)

“Alam mo ‘yung mga notes, parang nagga-glide lang. Kailangan ko ng isang special na mang-aawit, na artist sa Team Sarah,” Geronimo said.

(Your notes seem to just glide. I need a special singer, a special artist in Team Sarah.)

After some thought, Teves chose Bamboo as her coach and became the ninth member of Kamp Kawayan for this season.

Kamp Kawayan’s members now include Eman and Sandy Tanio, Altair Aguelo, Atascha Mercado, Benedict Inciong, Christian Pasno, Lance Macalinao, Martina Luis, and Romeo Espino.

On the other hand, Team Lea consists of Kiyana Bongat, Luke James Alford, Bianca Marbella, Jeomar Lazarraga, Noah Anderson, Reynan Dal-anay, Stephanie Jordan, and Telesa Marie de Torres.

Team Sarah already has 11 members with: Jolianne Salvado, Alexia Dator, Alyssa Celo, Francis Lim, Gian Ale, Ken Membrano, Kenshley Abad, Krystle Campos, Kyle Echarri, Zeph Dimaranan, and Mandy Sevillana.