Gmail adds an ‘undo send’ feature to its formal settings

There are those electronic mails (e-mails) which you either accidentally sent to the wrong person or were completely faulty messages enough to cause stomach-churning sensations of regret, shame, and embarrassment. Thankfully, Google mail (Gmail) users can prevent similar damage from ever happening again.

Gmail-Undo-Send
Photo Credit: Forbes

In a recent blog post, Google officially announced that the ‘undo send’ feature will be added as a formal setting on the web. In a Mashable report, the release date on mobile phones has not yet been revealed, but Google assured that it will be made available some time in the future.

This option provides users with a cancellation period, which ranges from 5 to 30 seconds, for when they experience having “second thoughts immediately after sending.”

By default, it is turned off. In order to enable it, Gmail account holders need to go to their ‘Settings’ and click on the ‘General’ tab where the ‘undo send’ box needs to be checked.

In a video uploaded via Youtube almost a month ago, the Google team shows a sample of an email gone wrong and how their newest button saves the day.

Although the ‘undo send’ feature appears to be the latest talk of the town, the reality is that Google has been trying it out for six years. In a blog entry that was published in March 2009, User Experience Designer Michael Leggett shared that the Gmail Labs has been providing an ‘undo’ link to anyone who wants to be taken back to the compositions they just finished creating in order to proofread their mistakes.

In essence, Gmail Labs “is a testing ground for experimental features that aren’t quite ready for primetime. They may change, break or disappear at any time.”

So, what started out as a public beta service has now gone mainstream and even becoming one of the most sought after components of Gmail.

Loading…