Breaking: Supreme Court upholds martial law over Mindanao

  • SC ruled in favor of martial law in Mindanao
  • 11 justices upheld validity of President Rodrigo Duterte’s martial law proclamation in totality
  • 3 justices voted to limit martial law to conflict zones, only 1 magistrate voted against proclamation

MANILA, Philippines – In a major victory for the administration of President Rodrigo Duterte, the Supreme Court resoundingly voted in favor of his proclamation of martial law over Mindanao.

Ruling on the validity of Proclamation 216, 14 justices found there was sufficiency of the factual basis for Duterte’s proclamation of martial law, namely that there was an existing rebellion instigated by the Maute group in Marawi City.

Out of the 14 justices, 11 of them voted for the proclamation in totality. They were:

  • Associate Justice Presbitero J. Velasco, Jr.
  • Associate Justice Teresita J. Leonardo-De Castro
  • Associate Justice Diosdado M. Peralta
  • Associate Justice Lucas P. Bersamin
  • Associate Justice Mariano C. Del Castillo
  • Associate Justice Jose C. Mendoza
  • Associate Justice Bienvenido L. Reyes
  • Associate Justice Estela M. Perlas-Bernabe
  • Associate Justice Francis H. Jardeleza
  • Associate Justice Samuel R. Martires
  • Associate Justice Noel G. Tijam

Meanwhile, 3 of the magistrates, while finding basis for the proclamation, voted to limit martial law to the actual sites of the conflict, namely Marawi and its neighboring areas. They were:

  • Chief Justice Maria Lourdes Sereno
  • Senior Associate Justice Antonio Carpio
  • Associate Justice Alfredo Benjamin Caguioa

On the other hand, the lone dissenter, Justice Marvic Leonen said there was no sufficient factual basis for Duterte’s declaration of martial law.

The other issue, Congress’ non-convening in joint session which is also being questioned, will be resolved in another ruling.