Full list of banks operational on September 21 “National Day of Protest” – Bankers Association of the Philippines

Image by BAP

If you have a very important money transaction on Thursday, September 21, fear not, your bank may be on this list.

Despite the suspension of work in government offices on Thursday due to President Rodrigo Duterte’s “National Day of Protest,” a statement was released by the Bankers Association of the Philippines (BAP) to inform the public that all its member banks will remain fully operational.

The statement read: “Normal check clearing operations, trading and other financial transactions will be observed to fully serve the banking public.”

Here is the list of BAP member banks:

  • Asia United Bank
  • BDO Unibank, Inc.
  • BDO Private Bank, Inc.
  • Bank of Commerce
  • Bank of the Philippine Islands
  • China Banking Corporation
  • CTBC Bank (Philippines) Corporation
  • Development Bank of the Philippines
  • East West Banking Corporation
  • Land Bank of the Philippines
  • Maybank Philippines, Inc.
  • Metropolitan Bank & Trust Company
  • Philippine Bank of Communications
  • Philippine National Bank
  • Rizal Commercial Banking Corporation
  • Robinsons Bank Corporation
  • Security Bank Corporation
  • Robinsons Bank Corporation
  • Security Bank Corporation
  • Union Bank of the Philippines
  • United Coconut Planters Bank

President Rodrigo Duterte signed On September 19 Proclamation 319 formally declaring September 21 as a “National Day of Protest.” The proclamation also suspends classes in public schools at all levels nationwide. September 21, 2017 also commemorates the 45th anniversary of martial law implemented by former President Ferdinand Marcos.

Meanwhile, Malacañang on Wednesday subsequently issued a clarification that the suspension of work would “only cover the executive branch of government, including local government units, and public schools at all levels, including state-and LGU- universities and colleges/technical and vocational schools.”