Twelve public schools in Marawi City resume classes

Image from CPIO Western Mindanao Command
  • Twelve public schools in cleared areas in Marawi City have resumed classes
  • A DepEd official expressed his gratitude to the military and local officials for restoring peace and order in areas where the schools are located
  • The military are monitoring the schools in coordination with school principals

Teachers in twelve public schools in war-torn Marawi City have started holding classes on Tuesday, September 6, in coordination with the office of City Mayor Majul Gandarma and the provincial government of Lanao del Sur.

As per a Philstar story, the public schools that are located in areas that have been cleared of terrorists are the following: Sultan Conding, Sikap, Cabingan, Banga, Datu Tambak, Rorogagus, Bito, Pendolonan, Abdulazis, Camp Bagong Amai Pakpak, Sugod and Mipaga elementary schools.

An official of the Department of Education in Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao expressed his gratitude to the city and provincial officials and to the military for restoring peace and order in the schools’ locations.

“We are grateful to officials in Marawi and in Lanao del Sur and to the Western Mindanao Command for cooperating in the restoration of law and order in the areas where these 12 schools are located,” John Magno, regional secretary of the Department of Education-Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao, said.

The schools are being monitored by the military in coordination with school principals.