New feature for privacy control: FB says users can soon clear their browsing history

Photo from Pixabay
  • Facebook to allow its users to clear their browsing history
  • Mark Zuckerberg said it is a feature which a lot of people have asked about recently
  • He said the feature might make the user experience worse as FB relearns the user’s preferences

Facebook users will soon have an option to delete their browsing history, the social media giant’s chief executive officer Mark Zuckerberg announced, Tuesday, May 1.

Zuckerberg, in a post, said that the idea is to allow users to flush their browsing history whenever they want such as what is present on web browsers.

“In your web browser, you have a simple way to clear your cookies and history. The idea is a lot of sites need cookies to work, but you should still be able to flush your history whenever you want.

“We’re building a version of this for Facebook too. It will be a simple control to clear your browsing history on Facebook — what you’ve clicked on, websites you’ve visited, and so on.”

Once the update is done, he said, users can see the information about the apps and websites they’ve interacted with and they will be able to clear it or turn off having the information stored in the account.

The feature which he called “something a lot of people have asked about recently”, might make the experience worse as the social media relearns the user’s preferences.

“But after going through our systems, this is an example of the kind of control we think you should have. It’s something privacy advocates have been asking for — and we will work with them to make sure we get it right.”

The Clear History tool, according to Simple Most, won’t be available for another few months since the FB team is still building it out.

Loading…